It’s been a while since the former Deep Purple guitarist released any new music with his other band Rainbow. In fact, their last album was 1995’s Stranger In Us All. However, Blackmore reformed Rainbow last year with a new line-up to play their first concerts in two decades.

Blackmore has now announced that he’ll be releasing two tracks this week, both recorded with the new line-up, featuring lead singer Ronnie Romero, keyboard player Jens Johansson, drummer David Keith and bassist Bob Nouveau. One track is a reworking of the Rainbow classic ‘I Surrender’, while the other – ‘Land of Hope and Glory’ is a brand new track.

Speaking about the new songs, Blackmore said, “I wrote one new song, and also recorded one of the old ones. Ronnie [Romero], who is in Madrid now, added his vocals and sent it back. Rather than make an album, we may release singles.”

Blackmore will take Rainbow out on a tour of the UK for the first time in twenty-two years this June.