Pearl Jam

The guys of Pearl Jam are treating their drummer like rhythm royalty. When the longstanding grunge band is inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame next month, only two drummers were selected to be going in as part of Pearl Jam, current drummer Matt Cameron and original drummer Dave Krusen, the latter who played on Ten. But, Pearl Jam have had three additional drummers over the years: Matt Chamberlain, Dave Abbruzzese and Jack Irons.

Now, Pearl Jam have made the call to invite all five of their drummers to the induction ceremony in Brooklyn, which will take place on April 7. Even if only two drummers will actually be inducted into the Rock Hall, Pearl Jam is doing what they can to honor all five.

Eddie Vedder by Anne Erickson

In a handwritten note on Twitter, the band explained, “We do feel fortunate to be recognized and provided the opportunity to reunite with everyone who has been part of the group. Specifically the drummers who all left their distinctive mark on our band in the pre-Matt Cameron years.”

The note continues, “Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain, Dave Abbruzzese and Jack Irons are each individually great players who gave their all to the early recordings and live gigs. Looking forward to seeing them and all the other musicians on the bill.”

Pearl Jam also gave a nod to some musicians whose bands were eligible for induction this year, but didn’t quite make it: “Have to say wish H.R. and Perry Farrell were gonna be there too.”

Photo: Anne Erickson