Neil Young

Neil Young recently surprised-released the vinyl version of his new covers album, A Letter Home, through Jack White’s Third Man Records. Young and White recorded the album acoustic and directly to vinyl, at Third Man’s 1940s phone-booth-size studio. Young covered Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, Willie Nelson, Bert Jansch, Don Everly, and more.

Young has now announced a box set version, to be released May 27 in the U.S. It will also be released as a CD and digital album. The limited-edition box will feature an expanded edition of the record, presented on two vinyl LPs, CD, and DVD. You also get seven vinyl singles, a download card for the "audiophile" version, and a 32-page booklet.

Both sides of the vinyl LP begin with spoken words from Young, reciting a letter to his late mother. He describes his “personal and present state of affairs, which sets the tone and atmosphere for the duration of the album.”

Neil Young: A Letter Home Tracklisting

“A Letter Home” intro
“Changes” (Phil Ochs cover)
“Girl From the North Country” (Bob Dylan cover)
“Needle of Death” (Bert Jansch cover)
“Early Morning Rain” (Gordon Lightfoot cover)
“Crazy” (Willie Nelson cover)
“Reason to Believe” (Tim Hardin cover)
“On the Road Again” (Willie Nelson cover)
“If You Could Read My Mind” (Gordon Lightfoot cover)
“Since I Met You Baby” (Ivory Joe Hunter cover)
“My Hometown” (Bruce Springsteen cover)
“I Wonder If I Care as Much” (Don Everly cover)