Jimi Hendrix

Two retrospective Jimi Hendrix albums, The Cry of Love and Rainbow Bridge, have been out of print for years, but no longer. Both albums are slated to be remastered by Bernie Grundman using the original analog master tapes and reissued on Sept. 16. The albums will arrive on CD, vinyl and via digital downloads.

The Cry of Love first dropped in February of 1971 and has been out of print since being reissued in 1992 on CD. Engineer Eddie Kramer and Jimi Hendrix Experience drummer Mitch Mitchell put together and mixed the release. Most of the songs Jimi recorded between December 1969 and the next summer at Electric Lady Studios in New York City. The Cry of Love also features guest appearances by Buzzy Linhart and Traffic’s Steve Winwood and Chris Wood.

Rainbow Bridge arrived in October of 1971, and this will mark the first time the release is available in CD format. Like The Cry of Love, the set also comprises songs recorded in 1969 and ‘70 at the same sessions. Some of the set’s popular songs include “Earth Blues,” “Dolly Dagger” and “Room Full of Mirrors.”

The Cry of Love and Rainbow Bridge Track Listings:

The Cry of Love :

“Ezy Ryder”
“Night Bird Flying”
“My Friend”
“Straight Ahead”
“Astro Man”
“In from the Storm”
“Belly Button Window”

Rainbow Bridge :

“Dolly Dagger”
“Earth Blues”
“Pali Gap”
“Room Full of Mirrors”
“Star Spangled Banner” (studio version)
“Look over Yonder”
“Hear My Train a Comin'“ (live)
“Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)”