Deep Purple

Deep Purple have announced the release of a “gold” box set that really is gold. It has four albums presented on 24-carat gold CDs.

The albums in the box are In Rock, Machine Head, Fireball and Who Do We Think We Are, which all featured the MkII line-up of Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice. It comes in a silver-effect container with embossed rivets.

The package contains booklets, photos and the original 12-inch vinyl album labels. Just 5,000 units are being produced, with high-quality manufacturers Audio Fidelity setting a price of $130 (£81) for the set.

Audio Fidelity says: “Deep Purple brought together a world-class line-up for their 1970-1973 body of work, collected here for the first time on a set of four 24-carat gold CDs.”

Deep Purple: The Audio Fidelity Collection goes on sale on November 11.

The tracklisting for the classic albums is:

In Rock

1. “Speed King”
2. “Bloodsucker”
3. “Child In Time”
4. “Flight Of The Rat”
5. “Into the Fire”
6. “ Living Wreck”
7. “Hard Lovin’ Man”


1. “Fireball”
2. “No No No”
3. “Strange Kind Of Woman”
4. “Anyone’s Daughter”
5. “The Mule”
6. “Fools”
7. “No One Came”

Machine Head

1. “Highway Star”
2. “Maybe I’m A Leo”
3. “Pictures Of Home”
4. “Never Before”
5. “Smoke On The Water”
6. “Lazy”
7. “Space Truckin’”

Who Do We Think We Are

1. “Woman From Tokyo”
2. “Mary Long”
3. “Super Trouper”
4. “Smooth Dancer”
5. “Rat Bat Blue”
6. “Place In Line”
7. “Our Lady”