Foo Fighters' new video for "The Pretender"

Dave Grohl probably isn't getting much sleep these days. Not only does he have a young toddler running around the house but his band the Foo Fighters are gearing up to release their sixth album, Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace on September 25. 

Describing the eclectic new disc to Billboard, the Gibson devotee said, "It has always been my dream to mix Steely Dan with No Means No. If anybody is going to do it, I'd love to be that guy." The album's first single "The Pretender," which is currently streaming at the band's MySpace page, doesn't bother too much with finding that middle ground—it just kicks ass. The record also includes "The Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners," which sees Grohl entering a fingerpicking duel with guitarist Kaki King. 

Meanwhile, the Foo's cover of the Arcade Fire's "Keep The Car Running," recorded during a session at the BBC's Live Lounge, has been making the rounds on the blogosphere to great acclaim. "I chose this song 'cause I listen to it every morning when I wake up and I figured it'd be a great song to do here 'cause I'm still waking and I figure I can't wake up 'til I listen to this song so I might as well play it," Grohl said. 

And if that's not enough, there's also a remastered 10th anniversary reissue of the band's double-platinum The Colour and The Shape album in stores right now with six bonus tracks. Whew!

    The track list for Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace:

  • "The Pretender"
  • "Let It Die"
  • "Erase/Replace"
  • "Long Road to Ruin"
  • "Come Alive"
  • "Stranger Things Have Happened"
  • "Cheer Up, Boys (Your Make-Up Is Running)"
  • "Summer's End"
  • "The Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners"
  • "Statues"
  • "But, Honestly"
  • "Home"

    iTunes bonus tracks:

  • "Once & For All" (Demo)
  • "Seda" 

Visit the Foo Fighters' official website here.

Visit the Foo Fighters' Myspace page here.