In its sixth year, the awards were held at Mexico City's Palacio de los Deportes, with actor Diego Luna as host. Gibson was the guitar of choice for most of the artists who performed live, from latin superstars Molotov, Divison Minuscula, Jesse & Joy and Babasonicos to international acts such as 30 Seconds to Mars and the bicultural mash up of Hilary Duff with Monterrey rockers Plastilina Mosh.

The list of Gibson artists who were awarded is:

Best Solo Artist:  Belinda
Best Group or Duet:  Maná
Best Pop Artist:  Julieta Venegas
Best Rock Artist:  Babasónicos
Best Alternative Artist:  Panda
Best Artist — North:  División Minúscula
Best New Artist — North:  Camila
Breaktrough Artist:  Camila
Video of the Year: "Bella Traición" - Belinda
Artist of the Year: Maná
Best Artist — Central: Kudai
Influence Award:  The Cure

Winners were selected by a record 12 million voters -- up 240% from last year -- who voiced their opinions online at and via text messaging. The awards aired live on MTV Latin America's three feeds and in syndication on MTV Brazil. Domestically, it aired live on MTVTr3s and will run MTV2 and other MTV channels worldwide.