The Velvet Underground’s 50th anniversary is being commemorated with a limited edition, six-album boxed set. Included in the set – which is being issued solely on 180-gram vinyl LPs – are the band’s four studio albums; Nico’s solo debut, Chelsea Girl; and a reconstruction of the Velvets’ “lost” 1969 album. Limited to 1,000 copies, the set will also include a 48-page booklet featuring vintage photos and a foreword written by founding member Moe Tucker.

Although the tracks that appear on the “lost” album have appeared elsewhere – in particular, on the collections VU and Another View, both released in the ‘80s – the 50th anniversary edition marks the first time the album has been represented in an expansive 2-LP format. Earlier this year, Tucker and fellow founding Velvet Underground member John Cale reunited to perform the Velvets classic, “I’m Waiting for the Man,” for a Grammy Salute. The anniversary boxed set is slated for release on February 23, 2018.

Velvet Underground