Shinedown frontman Brent Smith and lead guitarist Zach Myers have joined forces to release a new EP as Smith & Myers called (Acoustic Sessions). The upcoming collection, due out digitally on Jan. 28, will feature acoustic cover versions of songs from Metallica, the Clash, Soul Asylum, Otis Redding, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and the Black Crowes.

Fans picked the tunes on the EP. According to Smith, about 5,000 people voted on Shinedown’s Facebook page to choose which songs to cover.

The Clash’s “London Calling” was the most challenging song to redo.

“I’m gonna be honest with you; I didn’t grow up listening to The Clash,” Smith told Billboard. “I really had to learn the song, and it probably wound up becoming my favorite one of the whole session. We took every one of them very seriously, but it was one of the first songs we did, and that kind of set the tone for the rest of them.”

The guys currently have a video clip of the “London Calling” cover posted on Shinedown’s official YouTube channel. They plan to record additional covers in the future.

“Eventually we will release all 10 songs, which will be great,” Smith said. “It’s not about money for us. We didn’t write these songs. We did this for the audience and for the fans, and we know it’s something they’re gonna dig.”

Track List for Smith & Myers’ (Acoustic Sessions) EP:

“London Calling” (The Clash)
“Sitting on the Dock of the Bay” (Otis Redding)
“Nothing Else Matters” (Metallica)
“She Talks to Angels” (Black Crowes)
“Blue on Black” (Kenny Wayne Shepherd)
“Runaway Train” (Soul Asylum)