Frank Hannon

No sooner had tipped its hat to Dickey Betts (and then Dickey Betts announces he’s come out of retirement), and we hear that Tesla guitarist Frank Hannon is releasing a covers album after Betts’ encouragement. Betts is Hannon’s father-in-law, and Hannon’s album, Blue Sky: From One Place… to Another Vol. 1, is the first of three covers albums Hannon will release in 2018. Vol. 1 is out on January 26 2018.

“The songs that I contributed to Tesla - ‘What You Give’, ‘Gettin' Better' and ‘Love Song’ - have always had an acoustic, country or bluesy vibe to them,” says Hannon. “I love to sing and my father-in-law Dickey Betts encouraged me to step up to the microphone with guitar in hand. He sang many hits in the Allman Bros Band and ‘Blue Sky’ is one of my all time favorites.”

From One Place… to Another Vol. 1 features guest appearances by Paul Jackson (Blackberry Smoke), Duane Betts (son of Dickey), Matthew and Gunnar Nelson (sons of Ricky Nelson), Roger Fisher (original Heart guitarist) and many others.

“I recorded the majority of the songs while on tour with Tesla in dressing rooms, hotels, buses and even bathrooms using a handheld recorder,” continues Hannon. “I also went to friends' houses to capture performances and traded files over the Internet, bringing home the digital files to mix and embellish in my studio.”

Hannon’s main Gibson guitars include his '96 Cherry SG, an ES-335, Les Paul Goldtops and an EDS-1275 doubleneck. For acoustics, he favors a Gibson Dove and a J-50.

From One Place… to Another Vol. 1 Track Listing

  1. “Blue Sky” feat. Duane Betts (written by: Dickey Betts/made famous by: the Allman Brothers Band)
  2. “Call Me The Breeze” feat. Paul Jackson of Blackberry Smoke (JJ Cale/Lynyrd Skynyrd)
  3. “Under The Milky Way” feat. Duane Betts (The Church)
  4. “Jim Dandy To the Rescue” feat. Tommy Curiale & Alyson Kimball of Johnny Winter’s Band (Lincoln Chase/Laverne Baker & Black Oak Arkansas)
  5. “You're My Best Friend” (John Deacon/Queen)
  6. “Garden Party” feat. Matthew & Gunnar Nelson (Rick Nelson)
  7. “Sunrise in Texas” (Michael Tolcher/Blackberry Smoke)
  8. “I Hear Ya Knockin” (Dave Bartholomew)
  9. “Joy To The World” feat. Ron Keel (Hoyt Axton)
  10. “Four Letter Word” (Lukas Nelson)