Robert Plant has announced details of a new studio album, Carry Fire. It will be released October 13 on Nonesuch/Warner Bros. Records.

As with Plant’s previous album, 2014’s Lullaby and…The Ceaseless Roar, he is backed by The Sensational Space Shifters including Liam “Skin” Tyson (dobro, guitar, acoustic guitar, pedal steel, 12-string) and Justin Adams (guitar, acoustic guitar, oud, E-bow). Keyboards are played by John Baggott and Dave Smith is on drums and percussion.

Robert Plant

The track-listing for Carry Fire is:

“The May Queen”

“New World…”

“Season’s Song”

“Dance With You Tonight”

“Carving Up The World Again… A Wall And Not A Fence”

“A Way With Words”

“Carry Fire”

“Bones Of Saints”

“Keep It Hid”

“Bluebirds Over The Mountain”

“Heaven Sent”

The album was produced by Plant, includes guest appearances from Chrissie Hynde on “Bluebirds Over The Mountain”, previously recorded by Richie Valens and the Beach Boys. Albanian cellist Redi Hasa performs on three tracks, as does viola and fiddle player Seth Lakeman.

In a press release, Plant says of the album and its lavish instrumentation: “It’s about intention. I respect and relish my past works, but each time I feel the incentive to create new work, I must mix old with new.

“Consequently, the whole impetus of the band has moved on its axis somewhat – the new sound and different space giving way to exciting and dramatic landscapes of mood, melody and instrumentation.”

“Carry Fire” was a phrase Plant first used in the lyrics his 2005 song “Dancing In Heaven” (from his Mighty ReArranger album). The verse from that song reads:

“Bringing peace to the valley,

Carry fire through the oaks and the grove.

Precious memory carry,

As we move through the circles and stones.”

Suffice to say, the ex-Led Zeppelin singer’s many fans have been discussing online how the album will seemingly have strong mystical themes. That Carry Fire’s opening track is called “The May Queen” - see the lyrics of “Stairway To Heaven” - will excite them further.