Alice Cooper

The nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2018 have been revealed, and the tally includes two categories: "Performing" and "Non-Performing" songwriters.

"Performing" songwriters up for the honors include Alice Cooper, John Mellencamp, Tom Waits, Mariah Carey, the Pretenders' Chrissie Hynde, the Isley Brothers, Tracy Chapman, Jimmy Cliff, Kool & the Gang and rappers N.W.A.

"Non-performing" songwriters nominated for induction, with some of their notable hits, are as follows:

Allee Willis -- "Boogie Wonderland," "I'll Be There for You," "Neutron Dance," "September," "What Have I Done to Deserve This"

Denny Randell/Sandy Linzer -- "A Lover's Concerto," "Let's Hang On to What We've Got," "Native New Yorker," "Opus 17 (Don't Worry 'bout Me)," "Workin' My Way Back to You"

L. Russell Brown/Irwin Levine -- "Tie a Yellow Ribbon," "Knock Three Times," "I'm Gonna Boogie Tonight," "Say Has Anybody Seen My Sweet Gypsy Rose," "I Woke Up In Love This Morning"

Mike Chapman -- "Kiss You All Over, "Heart and Soul," "Better Be Good to Me," "Little Willy," "Stumblin' In"

Randy Goodrum -- "You Needed Me," "Bluer than Blue," "I'll Be Over You," "Foolish Heart," "Oh Sherrie"

Tony Macaulay -- "Baby Now That I've Found You," "Build Me Up Buttercup," "Don't Give Up on Us," "Last Night I Couldn't Get to Sleep at All," "Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes)"

William "Mickey" Stevenson -- "Beechwood 4-5789," "Dancing in the Street," "Devil with the Blue Dress," "It Takes Two," "Pride and Joy"

In order to be eligible for induction, a songwriter must have been working for at least two decades and posses a "notable catalog" of hits. Songwriters Hall of Fame members may cast their ballots now through Dec. 17. Winners will be inducted next year.