Judas Priest

British metal veterans Judas Priest will release a new studio album, Redeemer of Souls in North America on July 15 via Epic Records. The CD's title track is already available as a download.

Speaking to the Trunk Nation show on SiriusXM Hair Nation, singer Rob Halford stated about Redeemer of Souls: “When we finished [the] Epitaph [tour], we just got so buzzed from the fans and the reaction wherever we went. Just to put the Epitaph tour together, which was we tried to put a song from every record into the show, and we were living in the life of Judas Priest, all those decades, in one show, night after night on the world trek, and I think that really did something to us eternally; as musicians, it should do when you tour.

“So we realized that this next record really had to be really strong, full of energy, because it's relentless, the tracks are relentless. The energy that you feel off Redeemer of Souls is replicated in that direction time and time and time again.”

Of why the “bonus tracks” aren’t simply part of the album, guitarist Glenn Tipton says, : “They are all great songs. The reason they are not on the album is because the 13 that we chose are very consistent with what we wanted to do, which was release an undisputable heavy metal album. The others, they are not lightweight by any chance, but they’ve got a different feel, a different texture.

“So it’s not a case of trying to rip the kids off and trying to get more money for an extra album, it's just a case of, these five tracks seem to deserve to go on their own CD, and that’s what we did.”

Judas Priest Redeemer of Souls CD track listing

“Redeemer of Souls”
“Halls of Valhalla”
“Sword of Damocles”
“March of The Damned”
“Down In Flames”
“Hell & Back”
“Cold Blooded”
“Secrets of the Dead”
“Battle Cry”
“Beginning of the End”

Bonus tracks

“Tears of Blood”
“Bring It On”
“Never Forget”

Official preview video for “March of The Damned” below.