Aaron Lewis rose to fame in the emotive, post-grunge band Staind, but he has country in his blood. Lewis unleashed his debut solo album, The Road, in 2012, which was a full-out country release, and now, he’s back with a new solo country album, Sinner, out Sept. 16.

Aaron Lewis

The upcoming album features the country single “That Ain't Country,” which is available for download now via iTunes.

Lewis says that the new album champions old-school sounding country music.

“I’d like to think that Sinner is a newer take on classic, traditional outlaw country, Waylon (Jennings) and Merle (Haggard) and Willie (Nelson), and Hank (Williams) Jr. and Johnny Cash and all that stuff,” Lewis said in a statement. “That was the music I heard a kid, and that's the country music that permeated my soul and stuck with me my whole life.”

Lewis’ last album with Staind was their 2011 self-titled release.

Lewis will hit the road this summer behind Sinner and stay on the road throughout the fall and winter months. For show information, visit AaronLewisMusic.com.

Check out Lewis’ killer Southern Jumbo here.

Aaron Lewis’ Sinner Track List:

"Sinner" (featuring Willie Nelson)
"That Ain’t Country"
"Whiskey And You"
"Northern Redneck"
"Sunday Every Saturday Night"
"Lost and Lonely"
"Story of My Life"
"Stuck in These Shoes"
"I Lost It All"
"Travelin’ Soldier"

Photo credit: Anne Erickson