Gibson is proud to announce that the new Gibson HD 6X Pro Digital Les Paul guitar has been short listed in the prestigious “Best Music Hardware” award category. The BT Digital Music Awards takes place at The Roundhouse in Camden on October 2nd, 2007 and will be hosted by Radio 1 DJ Sara Cox. The awards are bigger and better than ever before with live performances from Mutya Buena, Natasha Bedingfield, Amy Macdonald, the Hoosiers, the Rakes, and Newton Faulkner.

The “Best Music Hardware” category sponsored by Stuff Magazine is a new award for 2007 will see the Gibson HD 6X Pro Digital Les Paul guitar go head to head with four other nominees which include the Nokia N95 phone, Samson USB Microphone Recording/Podcast Kit, Vocalist Live 2 and the M-Audio – Torq Xponent. With 20 prestigious awards up for grabs nominations including acts such as Klaxons, Manic Street Preachers, Calvin Harris, Natasha Bedingfield and The Chemical Brothers across categories including Best Rock/Indie, Pop, Urban and Electronic Artists, Best Radio Station, Best Music Store and Best Music Magazine. The awards will be televised on Channel 4 on October 5th, complete with a special ‘behind the scenes’ programme presented by Alex Zane as well as two 15-minute preview shows that will air in the run up to the awards with further promotion on T4.

BT is one of the world’s leading providers of communications solutions and services operating in 170 countries. Gavin Patterson, group managing director consumer BT comments, “With over 4 million broadband users in the UK, the field of digital music continues to grow and grow and with it so have the BT Digital Music Awards.”

Go online now using the links below to listen to each of the ten shortlisted acts and then visit www.btdma.com to vote for your favourite and to find out more about the BT Digital Music Awards 2007.

For more information on the Gibson HD 6X Pro Digital Les Paul guitar please visit http://www.gibson.com/DigitalGuitarNew/gibsonDigital.html

Full list of Award Categories:

Categories below have been short listed by panel for the public.  Public vote at the BT Digital Music Awards 07 website: www.btdma.com.

Final winner calculated by combining the votes of the judges and the votes of the public (50/50)

Best Pop Artist in association with TV Hits

Lil’ Chris                                 www.lilchris.co.uk  

Mika                                        www.mikasounds.com

Natasha Bedingfield               www.natashabedingfield.com  

Simon Webbe                          www.simonwebbe.net

The Hoosiers                           www.thehoosiers.co.uk

Best Rock/Indie Artist with Play Music

Bloc Party                               www.blocparty.com

Klaxons                                   www.klaxons.net

Manic Street Preachers           www.manics.co.uk

Muse                                       www.muse.mu

Razorlight                               www.razorlight.co.uk

Best Podcast in Association with BTPodShow

4Radio’s Slash Music                               www.channel4radio.com

Drowned in Sound                                   www.drownedinsound.com

Hospital Records’ London Elektricity      www.hospitalrecords.com/podcast/

The Guardian Music Weekly                    www.guardian.co.uk/music/podcast

Tony Robinson’s Friendly Guide to Music    www.classicfm.com

Video Podcasts

Bloc Party Videocasts                              www.icast.uk.com

Hard-Fi – Rockin’ In The City podcast    www.youtube.com/hardfiband

Mark Ronson Official podcast                 www.youtube.com/watch?v=UguGnTu7FKk

MTV presents The Gonzo podcast           www.mtv.co.uk/gonzo

Patrick Wolf Videocasts                           www.icast.uk.com

Best Music Store

7digital                                    www.7digital.com

Beatport                                  www.beatport.com

Bleep.com                               www.bleep.com

eMusic                                     www.emusic.com

iTunes                                      www.itunes.co.uk

Best Music Magazine

Drowned In Sound                 www.drownedinsound.com

Ilikemusic                                www.ilikemusic.com

NME.com                               www.nme.com

Resident Advisor                    www.residentadvisor.net

This is Fake DIY                     www.thisisfakeDIY.co.uk

Best Music Community in association with hmv.com

Bebo Bands community                           www.bebo.com/Bands.jsp?PageNbr=5

Bloc Party’s Marshals community            www.blocparty.com/marshals

Live Nation’s Download Festival community http://forums.downloadfestival.co.uk

Road To V community                             www.roadtov.com

Vaionation.co.uk community                    www.vaionation.co.uk

Categories judged by panel of experts

Best Artist Promotion in association with Yahoo! Music

David Gilmour – Arnold Layne Covers

The Rakes – Ten New Messages Flash Mob

Robbie Williams – Goodbye To The Normals

Stereophonics – Bank Holiday Monday Ticket/Download Promotion

The Hedrons – Live in Second Life

Best Music Hardware in association with Stuff Magazine

Gibson HD 6X Pro Digital Les Paul Guitar- www.gibson.com

M-Audio – Torq Xponent                   www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/TorqXponent-main.html

Nokia N95                                          www.nseries.com

Samson USB Microphone Recording/Podcast Kit www.podcastmics.co.uk

Vocalist Live 2                                    www.vocalistlive.co.uk

Artist of the Year in association with Packard Bell

Bloc Party                               www.blocparty.com

Funeral For A Friend              www.funeralforafriend.com

Muse                                       www.muse.mu

Natasha Bedingfield               www.natashabedingfield.com

Razorlight                               www.razorlight.co.uk

Rihanna                                   www.rihannanow.com

Breakthrough Artist of the Year in association with BBC 6 Music 

Amy MacDonald                    www.amymacdonald.co.uk

Enter Shikari                           www.entershikari.com

Hadouken!                              www.hadouken.co.uk

Lil Chris                                  www.lilchris.co.uk

Slaves To Gravity                   www.slavestogravity.com

Jack Penate                             http://jackpenate.com

Best Digital Service

The Jazz                                  www.thejazz.com

MSN Live Earth                     http://liveearth.msn.com/

Now Play It                            www.nowplayit.com

We7                                         www.we7.com

Yahoo! Music UK & Ireland http://uk.launch.yahoo.com/

Best Innovation in association with 4Music

CLIQ                                      (no url)

indiestore.com                         www.indiestore.com

Music Glue                              www.musicglue.com

Now Play It                            www.nowplayit.com

SliceThePie.com                      www.slicethepie.com

The panel of experts come from a range of positions involved with digital music including broadcast and online digital media, record companies, music websites, digital music retailers and distributors, soft and hardware manufacturers and providers, network and telecoms providers and digital rights management companies.